Reviews

What are guest have to say

9.2 Rated by guests
ribbon Recognition of excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Superb 9.4/10 Score from 192 reviews

Guest Book

I chanced upon this hotel simply by walking up the road and ringing the bell. I am pleased that I did! I was surprised to find that Paula and Ray had only been in the business a short while. All I can say is if they keep up their current standard they should succeed in their venture. Value for money? Yes, definitely. Highly recommended.

-Graham, Erith

"Perfect" Happy. The owners of this lovely B&B are so helpful, friendly and kind, I loved my stay here, it is spotless and the location is perfect.

-Pamela

I stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed them. Paula and Ray are very nice,kind and hospitable and took really good care of us. The rooms are very homely and nice. The breakfast was delicious. Paula and Ray were very helpful and the hotel was a 5 minute walk away from the harbour.

-Marni, Birmingham

Paula and Ray were fabulous hosts. Very caring kind.

-Azhar, Birmingham

We have been to Torquay many times, staying in different hotels. I have to say this hotel rates at the top of the pile!! From the moment you arrive the hospitality is outstanding. Tea and coffee on arrival, rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast was awesome. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Torquay. Would stay again without fail!!

-Trevor, Plymouth

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 31 October 2016
What a fantastic place, from the moment you step in the door you are greeted by a warm and friendly atmosphere. A really personal touch is applied Paula and Ray refer to you as your name and know exactly what their guest want. Would highly recommend them. Shame we had to leave this place.

-Tom & Tash

"Great place to stay in Torquay"
Reviewed 9 October 2016
I would describe Grosvenor Guest House in Torquay as a real home from home. On arrival we were welcomed by hosts Paula and Ray with a much appreciated cup of tea. During our stay they gave us very knowledgeable advice about local places to visit. Our room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. There was a good breakfast choice. We found the Grosvenor to be an excellent base for use of local trains and buses. There's lots to see and do in and around Torquay, looking forward to our next visit.

-Jack

“Couldn't ask for more ”
Reviewed 31 October 2016
Just spent the weekend at the Grosvenor house and came away feeling fully rested from the phone call earlier in the day to enquire what time you'd be arriving to the waving off from the door at departure nothing was too much hassle for Ray & Paula
The meet & greet when you first arrive is spot on especially when your offered a drink to the hearty breakfast which leaves you full for the rest of the day and then finally the super comfy bed where I crashed out straight away
Don't just take my word for it
Try it !

-Pat B

“Wonderful return visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2016
My second visit and was even better. The welcome I received was lovely both Paula and Ray make you feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble, the room was comfortable and the bed superb. The standard of cleanliness throughout is excellent and the choice at breakfast extensive. There is so much to do in the area you never run out of days out. I recommend this. Hotel to everyone and will visit again.

-Judith R - North Berwick

“1st visit”
Reviewed 22 September 2016
Warm welcome from hosts Paula and Ray. Small hotel but lovely and clean and well appointed. We had superior room plenty of space with 2 easy chairs in bay window. Compact bathroom but good shower and fittings, large fluffy white bath sheets. Did peep in other rooms when being cleaned all good quality furniture and bedding. Nice lounge and small bar for drinks, friendly hosts and other guests. Dining room in basement but still bright and pleasant, lovely breakfast and choice .Good quality bacon and sausage, I don't normally eat sausage but loved these. Convenient situation for bus into Torquay and on to Babbacombe, return bus from harbour right across from front door. Mainline station 10 minute walk away. Did not move our car all week. Would love to return, just sorry it is so far from our home.

-Ann F - Wrexham

A jewel on the English Riviera”
Reviewed 18 September 2016
I could tell the second we arrived from the warm, friendly greeting of Ray and Paula that this would be a successful break. I, husband and our sister--in-law were extremely impressed with our stay.

-Beryl W - Borehamwood

Great B & B”
Reviewed 16 September 2016
Stayed at the Grosvenor HOUSE Hotel not to be confused with the Grosvenor Hotel, was exceptionally clean and our rooms delightful. The breakfast was amazing - plentiful, and varied and the bar was a great place to end the day. I would highly recommend the Grosvenor House It is ideally situated and efficiently run by a very lovely couple.
We were given a warm welcome by Paula with tea or coffee and then shown to our room. We found everything we needed tea and coffee making, TV , hair dryer etc.
A very comfortable bed with spotless linen, good quality pillows and gorgeous soft white fluffy towels completed the picture.
Breakfast choice was good with a verity of cereals and juices and included a bowl of fresh fruit salad - very nice. The cooked breakfast was tasty and well presented with a good choice of content. Toast and tea / coffee was supplied fresh with as much as you wanted.
Our host Paula went out of her way to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible ordering taxis and opening the small bar for early evening drinks.
We understand the present proprietors have only been in post for some 18 months but are clearly setting a high standard and we wish them well.
In short this is not a big five star hotel but it is a very good small hotel / B&B and the acid test - would we go there again YES and would recommend it to other wanting a reasonably priced stay in a small friendly hotel close to all the amenities.

-JAP - Wales

Reviewed 30 August 2016
Stayed last year and said I would come back. Once again a most enjoyable stay great rooms, great hospitality from owners Ray and Paula, breakfast is fantastic. Great recommendations of restaurants and only a short walk along the seafront to the main town. We will return again, if you’re looking to stay in Torquay look no further.

-giacam054 - Essex

“The best by far”
Reviewed 26 August 2016
We are currently staying at the guest house and have to say it’s fantastic.
We arrived after an 8 hour drive and were given a very warm welcome. The owners are really friendly and you can see from the moment you enter how much pride they take in the guest house.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable they are in immaculate condition and have a nice clean fresh feeling. Breakfast is fantastic and you get spoiled for choice. If you’re looking for a b&b in Torquay this place won't disappoint, on a nice quiet hill with private parking
The walk in to town is only 15 minutes along the sea front. I will definitely return and i will be recommending to my friends and family.

-apjnnp - Leeds

“Lovely professional people own this hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Just spent 4 nights with my family, the owners Ray and Paula could not have been more friendly and helpful, my wife is coeliac and must eat gluten and wheat free meals this was no problem to them at all they really did know what they were doing, our two grandchildren thought the whole stay was great, would not stay anywhere else in Torquay, will return again without hesitation. The two rooms we had were excellent, home from home.

-MDB22 - Gloucester

“Wonderful place, wonderful people”
Reviewed 10 August 2016
Such a warm and wonderful reception. Paula and Ray are extremely helpful, hospitable, kind and welcoming. They prepare the most wonderful breakfast in the morning and the rooms are immaculate. They helped us with the sights, restaurants, and the works. Highly recommend this lovely B&B.

-Evelinesvo - Kettering

“A gem!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016
When we arrived the welcome was warm and genuine. Although we arrived two hours before check-in time our room was ready and we were able to unpack and make the most of the day. On arrival we were offered a drink, which was really nice. Paula gave us the tour and allowed us to settle in. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We were offered more tea/coffee and toast. Paula and Ray are very knowledgeable about the area and what is on offer in and around Torquay. We only stayed for two nights but felt really welcome. I would recommend this B & B wholeheartedly. A gem!

-Karen W - Worcester

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 July 2016
We went with friends so there were 6 of us, Paula and Ray had no problem accommodating all of us. They had two lovely rooms available for us, they meet us with a friendly smile and a very welcoming manner.
The room we had was quite big with all amenities you would expect, they even had USB charging sockets. The breakfast was great Paula would got out of her way to get what you wanted, and nothing was too much trouble. She even gave our boys some bacon for them to go crabbing with. The B&B is not far from the town or the beach, and there are some nice cocktail bars and some of them are quite reasonably priced.

-Mick Rapley - Camberley

“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile
We were looking for a B&B that had two family rooms as we were going away with friends, we tried another B&B and they recommend this little beauty.
Ray and Paula welcome you like long lost friends and nothing is too much trouble. They are situated in the perfect location for your time in Torbay, 15mins walk to the shop and 10mims to the beach, and a bus stop just across the road.
We stayed in room 7, which is nice and big and each room comes with all your standard amenities, they have recently added USB sockets. Breakfast is lovely, a nice full English sets you up a treat for the day, other options are available. They have a nice patio area should you wish to use it and a full licensed bar if you want to have a little drink, the prices are very reasonable too.
It's the little touches and the way you interact with customers, Ray and Paula have and give that without second thought.
We will stay here again when we next visit the area without looking anywhere else

-Scott E

“Lovely Guest House with Lovely Hosts”
Reviewed 25 July 2016
I booked this hotel with friends for a short stay in Torquay. The location is ideal, very close to Torquay Bay, bus stops, restaurants and shops! Paula and Ray were absolutely lovely hosts who made us all feel very welcome from the moment we walked in. The rooms have everything you need from toiletries, hairdryer, Wi-Fi and a fan (which was great considering the English heatwave we had while we stayed!). We are definitely going to return to this hotel as Torquay has so much more to offer and the stay here was great! Thank you!

-Bob 34 - Norfolk

“Very highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 July 2016
We had a lovely four day stay with my husband's parents who are in their 70's. Paula and Ray are so welcoming and friendly, the breakfasts were great and our rooms clean and very comfortable. The hotel is a good base to travel from and there is lots to see and do in the area. We will definitely be back for another visit.

-Janet T - Romford

Stayed before but now it's even nicer”
Reviewed 13 June 2016
Happily run by the fab duo Paula and Ray who have taken over since we last stayed. Nothing's a problem. Very friendly like a home from home. Rooms have been improved all clean bright and dandy and they are continuing the upgrade when time allows. Really stayed here again as was over for surgery and needed to chill afterwards close to the hospital but didn't want to be in the town but not too far from all amenities. Perfeck!

-thelittlelady007 - Channel Islands

“What a wonderful couple and a beautiful 'home'”
Reviewed 26 May 2016
This is a little late - but I had to write to say I had a lovely time with Paula and Ray when I visited them for a weekend last month. Their hospitality was second to none, room’s spotless, and showers excellent, lovely huge bed and a great breakfast as well. Perfect, I can’t wait to go again.

-Smolloy2015 - Birmingham

Spur of the moment booking......great result!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016
On a spur of the moment decision, we made our reservation on Wednesday 30th March '16 and arrived the next day.......to a lovely warm welcome from Paula & Ray.
We had two large rooms, both spotlessly clean, with every facility one could wish for in a hotel.
There was a comfortable reception area, with a well-stocked bar, and a separate TV lounge. Breakfast both mornings was excellent, freshly cooked, with a wide variety of continental & cooked foods to enjoy.
Paula & Ray made our short stay so much more memorable with their knowledgeable advice for the local amenities. The beach and the seaside restaurants are only a 5 - 8 minute stroll through the lovely Torre gardens. We took a bus to Paignton, the steam train to Dartmouth, and the ferry across the Dart into Dartmouth proper, all in the morning, before returning the Paignton Fun Fair.
Paula & Ray were so accommodating to we four adults and especially to our 2 grandchildren. Nothing was too much trouble for them, including recommending the Yum Sing Chinese restaurant in Torquay......some of the best Chinese food we've ever eaten.
We can't praise them enough; we'll be back when we can fit Torquay into our busy lives.

-Neil, Chris, Adam, Nicky, Amber & Lucas
-